Bonthu Rammohan elected as the GHMC Mayor Hyderabad


Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation (2016) Mayor and Deputy Mayor


Bonthu Rammohan elected as the First Mayor of GHMC – Telangana State .


Telangana Rashtra Samiti (TRS) corporator from Cherlapally division, Bonthu Rammohan, is elected as the mayor of Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation (GHMC). The ruling party has decided to pick Rammohan as the First Citizen of Hyderabad. Baba Faseeuddin, corporator from Borabanda division (103), is likely to be the Deputy Mayor.


Bontu Rammohan GHMC Mayor TRS


With TRS having an overwhelming majority in the GHMC council, Rammohan’s election is a mere formality . The ruling party won 99 out of 150 divisions in the recently held elections.



After issue of ordinance by the State government last week on the ex-officio members for GHMC Mayor and Deputy Mayor elections, Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation (GHMC) has revised the list to 67. A total of 217 members will elect the Mayor and Deputy Mayor including newly elected 150 corporators.


As per the ordinance, all MPs, MLAs and MLCs who are registered as voters in GHMC limits have been made eligible for voting for the post of Mayor and Deputy Mayor. The election will be held on February 11 in the Council Hall of GHMC head office.


After the issue of ordinance, GHMC authorities carried out fresh exercise to identify MPs, MLAs and MLCs who are registered voters in the GHMC limits and list them as ex-officio members of GHMC. The process was completed on Monday. The total ex-officio members now stands at 67. The list has be sent to Hyderabad District Collector, Rahul Bojja who is the presiding officer for conduct of polls to Mayoral post on Thursday.


The 67 ex-officio members finalised include 4 Lok Sabha members, 10 Rajya Sabha members, 24 MLAs and 29 MLCs representing Greater Hyderabad and have been enrolled as voters in GHMC and are eligible to vote for the mayoral elections. To win the Mayoral post, political parties require 109 votes of the total of 217 members.

The four Lok Sabha members are K Prabhakar Reddy (TRS, Medak), Ch Malla Reddy (TDP Malkajgiri), Bandaru Dattatreya (BJP, Sec’bad) and Asaduddin Owaisi (MIM, Hyd).

The 10 Rajya Sabha members include KVP Ramachandra Rao, V Hanumantha Rao, Rapolu Ananda Bhaskar, P Govardhan Reddy, Jairam Ramesh, M A Khan and Konidala Chiranjeevi (all Congress), C M Ramesh and Garikapati Mohan Rao (both TDP) and K Keshava Rao (TRS).

The 24 MLAs include K Laxman, G Kishan Reddy, Ramchandra Reddy, Raja Singh, NVSS Prabhakar. Maganti Gopinath, Vivekanand Reddy,  Krishaiah, Prakash Goud,  Gandhi, Jaffer Hussain, K Moinuddin, Ahmed Bin Balala, SA Pasha Qadri, Akbaruddin Owaisi, Mumtaz Ahmed Khan, Mauzam Khan, T Padma Rao, Mahipal Reddy and Kanaka Reddy. Those who joined TRS from TDP include Srinivas Yadav, Sayyana, Krishna Rao and Elvis Stephenson.



Source: NewIndianExpress and Sakshipost (Image Credits.)


Print Friendly, PDF & Email

You may also like...